Silly Fadz!

Today on my route home from work NPR announced that the latest fad among school aged children was something called “silly bandz”.  I still need to ask someone at work if her daughter is into those… but anyway, it got me to thinking about all of the goofy fads that I can remember (and bought into) as a kid.

There were….

POGS


(image source)

I had a few that a friend gave me because he had doubles, but I was never really into them.  I think I was 6 or 7 when they were THE thing to have.

Beanie Babies


(image source)

I remember the first time I heard about Beanie Babies.  I was in the car with my mom picking someone for a conference up from the airport, and after we picked the woman up I was asked if I was into them.  I think the woman was a little surprised that I had NO idea what on earth she was talking about.  I remember going to Target with dad to see what they were and thinking “I have stuffed animals”.  I did collect a few, and I *think* I actually have a couple left somewhere in a box, but I never filled rooms with them like I’ve seen!!

Tamagothi


(image source)

I found out about these at Girl Scout camp one year, and didn’t think much of it until a couple months later the fad hit the small town I was in.  Most girls I knew went for either Giga Pets or Nano Pets.  I remember treating the hatchling version badly (not feeding or cleaning up its poops) so I would get the cooler looking “bad” pets when it grew up.  Granted, this didn’t always work because I’d say about half the time it got so sick that the spaceship came and took it away.  I also remember one kid I knew of being so into his that his mom would take the thing to work to take care of it so it wouldn’t die while he was at school.  makes me wonder what her boss thought of that….

FURBY


(image source)

And of course there was Furby. My sisters and I saved up and bought one from a little shop in town for $40 I think… (the scary thing that I image I posted is the EXACT furby we had!)  It was actually pretty entertaining for a while.  We taught it to sing the a lullaby before it went to sleep and burp which was neat. BUT our Furby also committed suicide on a regular basis by rocking itself off of the dresser where it lived.  I don’t know if the dresser wasn’t level or what else, but it was pretty darn funny…

All of these leads me to wonder what fads the geeklings will buy into when they finally arrive and are of school age.

One thought on “Silly Fadz!

  1. Oh my gosh! I totally forgot about POGS! Such an easy thing to collect. I’ll ask Mel if she remembers them… I know she will and it’lll bring a smile.

Leave a Reply

