Cupcake Week 2011: Brown Sugar Buckwheat Banana Cupcakes with Cinnamon & Kraken Cream Cheese Frosting

 

Whew…. thats a mouthful!

I wouldn’t be cupcake week if I didn’t bake something myself, now would it? 😉

I had planned on making the cupcakes themselves vegan and gluten-free, but time, tiredness and studying kinda made for not enough energy to go searching all over Bloomington for things, even though I *technically* knew that I would only have to make a couple stops…

Anyway, first a word of warning, my frosting recipe contains LOTS OF RUM.  In no way do I endorse giving this to children, because heck, you can TASTE the rum in the frosting.  If you DO want to make these for kids to enjoy, might I suggest just leaving the booze out of it?  kthxbai.

Alright, now onto my pretty LAME pictorial, enjoy!

First off, I went onto the FoodGawker website and searched for “banana cupcakes”.  I had some bananas that were BEGGING to be used (you know the type), and since its cupcake week I thought that making banana bread muffins would be on the lame side.  I took THIS RECIPE and tweaked a few things — 2/3 c each of all-purpous and half buckwheat flours, I didn’t add any nutmeg, and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon (instead of half).  The Result:

 

Now onto the part I DID actually make off the top of my head, THE CINNAMON & KRAKEN CREAM CHEESE FROSTING!

What you’ll need:

  • 8 oz brick of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 c butter, softened
  • 1/4 Kraken (or another rum of your choice)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 T (yes a tablespoon!) cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 to 2 c powder sugar
So first you dump EVERYTHING into a bowl:
INCLUDING THE RUM:
(click the picture to check out their site!)
The next step is pretty easy, turn the mixer on and blend on HIGH (watch out for flying sugar…) until smooth.  Like so:
After, frost your cuppie:
Then make sure to lick off any frosting that got on your fingers in the process:
(yes, I know the picture is dark and I still
have groceries to put away on the table!)

 

The next part is the BEST. You EAT IT:

I love how the dark spiced rum, cinnamon and cream cheese compliment the nutty banana-y flavor of the cupcake.  JP did too, and Sally was VERY disappointed we didn’t share. (she did get to “clean up” the kitchen floor when I dropped the powdered sugar though…)

We ended up only eating a couple of them tonight, but JP has a Middle-High German study group on Monday, so I stuck the rest of the cupcakes in my BIG tupperware box and then threw the rest of the frosting in a zipper bag and stored them both until he heads to school on Monday.  Though, I have a feeling if we have friends over for dinner tomorrow we’ll break into them again for dessert 😉

One thought on “Cupcake Week 2011: Brown Sugar Buckwheat Banana Cupcakes with Cinnamon & Kraken Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

