Oh the Irony…

A while back my sister Kate posted on the facebook about a ballet bootcamp.  I didn’t give it TOO much thought because well, I was out in the field hiking around 5 miles a day.  Welps, being that I’m back in the office that whole hiking thing isn’t really happening anymore… and with my starting the vanpool in a couple weeks my 4 block walk from my car to the office is that going away, so I decided to go look up this hear bootcamp thingy for myself.

So I went to Kate’s (and Meg’s!) blog to look into it.  Kate linked to something she found on pinterest that was from prevention magazine about a bootcamp designed by MyBarre3. I attempted to follow the step-by-step picture thingy on the prevention website, bit as I suck, I headed over to the MyBarre3 site and did the 10 minute preview workout. Turns out that I got a little hooked, and then signed up to complete the bootcamp workout.

Ok, let me take a second here to explain the bit of irony at this whole thing.  First, when I was 6 and Kate was 4 (Meg was 2), my mom signed me and Kate up for ballet class since she had been a dancer as a kid.  Kate excelled at the whole thing where as I flunked/quit/got kicked out of ballet. Yeah…  The second part of the irony?  My mom put me in ballet to help me become more graceful, because well, as a surly six-year-old I sauntered everywhere /headdesk

So, hey mom, guess what!  You’re not so graceful sometimes-steeltoe-boot-wearing-gizzard-slinging-skunk-chasing daughter is now doing something that has to do with ballet!  And it only took me 20 years to get back to it. :p

Anyway, I digress.  I like the workout because while it was HARD and I SWEATED a whole bunch, I didn’t mind it. In fact, the 30 minutes flew by!  The workouts are VERY akin to yoga classes.  I loved my yoga studio in Lafayette when we were there a few years ago, and would have joined a studio in Btown if one had classes late enough, BUT with commuting between here and Indy, that just isn’t the case. And I totally don’t see why its not that way here, my studio in Lafayette had an 8:30pm energy yoga class which I got to twice a week… Again I digress :p

The cool thing that I found with MyBarre3 is that for $15/month you get access to 40 (yes f-o-r-t-y!) different workouts that range from 10 minutes to an hour.  What’s even better is that right now you can get a month for FREE signing up with the current friends and family offer I found though google and facebook.  Simply enter the code b3friendsandfamily when you sign up! (I have no idea how long this code is good for, so sign up while you can!)

I’m totally going to try to get in at least a 30 minute workout in for the next month, and I have a very STRONG feeling that I’m going to sign-up long term 🙂

NOTE: I am in no way shape or form associated with MyBarre3, and thus was not paid or compensated for this post.  I’m just a dork and like to share things I like with the world wide web 😀

One thought on “Oh the Irony…

Leave a Reply

