Friday Fives: Our Top Christmas Movies

Last Monday night JP and I watched the movie
Elf with Will Ferrell for the first time.

And we laughed out butts off.  JP said he fully intends
to randomly start answering the phone with:


(gif source)

This got me thinking about what our “funf-fecta”
for Christmas movies would be.

one// A Lion in Winter
I suppose most people wouldn’t consider this one
to be a Christmas movie per say, but this is the movie
that we watch every Christmas morning 🙂
(also, how can you NOT love the cast?!)

two// Muppet Christmas Carol
The Muppets! and Michael Caine as Scrooge!!
Do I really need to explain much more?

three// A Christmas Carol
Here JP and I are a little divided.
His favorite is the Walter C Scott version from 1984:

And mine is the 1999 version with Patrick Stewart:

four// How the Grinch Stole Christmas
And not the cruddy one with Jim Carrey.
Nope, I’m referring to the awesome animated version
from the 1960’s!

five// Love Actually
JP argues that this is a chick-flick and doesn’t
go on the list.  I argue that it’s my blog so it does 😉

2 thoughts on “Friday Fives: Our Top Christmas Movies

  1. Elf is really a surprise Christmas fave for Gina and I. Neither of us were really Will Ferrell fans until Stranger Than Fiction (which I’m now convinced serves as an inoculation for Ferrell), but we totally love Elf.

    Also, Love Actually is goof, even if Alan Rickman’s character all kinds of upsets me.

  2. _Love Actually_ is all about Christmas being a time of reflection and relations, so it is definitely a Christmas movie. Also, Colin Firth is so yummy in it.

    I always argue for _Die Hard_ and _Lethal Weapon_ as both occur during Christmas and involve yuletide humour and redemption stories.

Leave a Reply

