Bringing Little Geeky Lizzy into Today

So I’m sure by this point many of you have seen that there is going to the a forth movie in the Jurassic Park franchise.  Jurassic World will be coming out next June, and I have pretty mixed feelings about it if I’m being completely honest.

Missed the trailer? well, here it is.  Go watch it, I’ll wait right here so  you can get what I’m writing about.

Watched it? Ok, now we’re on the same page.  I have really mixed feelings about this movie.  First off, and my mother can attest to this, I was a HUGE Jurassic Park and general dinosaur fan as a kid.  So in a way my childhood is being brought into my adulthood.  BUT, Spielburg did the same thing when the forth Indiana Jones movie was made, and we all know how that worked out.  Yes, I was excited to see Indy on screen again, but I was not at all happy with the end result.  It lacked the oomph of the other three movies and felt very every forced. (watch the South Park Episode and that pretty much describes it!)

Also, in a way I have a small problem with Chris Pratt being the lead scientist guy — not that he isn’t a good actor, but I still very much view him as Andy from Parks and Recreation.

Andy Dwyer Chris Pratt animated GIF(gif source)

And I also totally get that Chris Pratt probably doesn’t want to be pigeon-holed into the “goofy guy” characters, but that was part of the big reason I liked him so much as Star-Lord in Guardians of the Galaxy.

Then there’s the whole thing of where it looks like the velociraptors seem to have been turned into obedient guard dog types.  Uhhh…

So will I go see it next June?  Most likely.  Will another part of my childhood be crushed?  That is yet to be seen.

 

Leave a Reply

