Sipping on Bubbles and Taking a Look Back (2014 end of year post!)

Hey internet – its been a while!  So, how are you?  Good? Great? Just ok?  Eh, things are going good over here, just busy and turns out that working full time on top of this whole facilitating the growth of a new human is a little on the exhausting side.  BUT fear not, now that I’ve worked out most of the kinks with schedules and such zee blog will be seeing new life in 2015 🙂

Speaking of 2015, is anyone else looking forward to the new year?  Granted I have one pretty big reason to look forward to it, but aside from that I think it’ll be a good one.  Not that 2014 was a horrible year.  Yes it started off sucktastic, but we’re ending on a pretty high note here.  So without further ado, let’s dig into this.

1. What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before? Visited a few new countries, moved into a townhouse, and successfully made it into the second trimester!  I’m sure there were other things, they’re just not coming to mind.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Heh, I think I actually forgot to make them in the mess that was dealing with hospitals.  Though I did make it a goal to get healthy again after I left and despite the infection coming back a couple months later I’m MUCH healthier today than I was a year ago 😀  This year I’m going to focus on more of a theme (which will have more details posted about in a few days) than make too many resolutions (though there are a few that will involve this little space). OH! and I’m going to pick up a line-a-day journal and start it tomorrow.  Looking back over our five years of marriage I sort of wish I had done this, and I figure since 2015 is going to be a big year that this’ll be a good thing.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? It’s that period of life!  I think at least a dozen friends and family had new bundles of joy that they welcomed into their families this year.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Actually no, which was a nice change of pace.

5. What countries did you visit? Let’s see, lived in the US and Germany, visited Italy, The Netherlands, Austria and the Czech Republic. Oh, and Iceland if you count our 90 minute layover of TSA patdown fun 😛

6. What would you like to have in 2015 that you lacked in 2014? Vacation time at the end of the year.  JP is currently in TX visiting family and I’m here soloing it with the dog for NYE.  So that should be changed this time next year.  Also I wish we could have visited extended family, which is something I also hope to do in 2015.

7. What date from 2014 will remain etched upon your memory and why? There are two.  September 17 – the day we had a positive pregnancy test early in the morning  before I headed to Indy for a job interview, and then October 7 – the day we ended up in the ER because of bleeding, but things turned out ok, and I saw Baby E’s heartbeat on the ultrasound.  So both very future kidlet-related.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Finishing level B1 in my German classes!

9. What was your biggest failure? Not starting B2.  Looking back I wish I had at least taken part 1 before we left.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Yup. Damn infection boomerang.

11. What was the best thing you bought? We’ve been nesting, though that happened before Baby E’s conception.  We’re determined to make this apartment really our space and not just a place where we’ve landed for a short period.  So far my favorite purchases have been the bookcases we snagged from our local Habitat for Humanity Restore (4 huge bookshelves for less than $50!)  and then our new couch since mice got into the storage unit and turned our old inherited one into a condo fun land.

12. What did you get really, really, really excited about? The Grand Fifth Anniversary Adventure and Baby E!

13. What song will always remind you of 2014?   Ok, so this is going to sound REALLY silly, but for me I think it’s Berlin City Girl by Culcha Culcha.  The reason? I left a VERY large piece of my heart in that city. (also, this is NOT my favorite kind of music, but the lyrics feel fitting) I know some people don’t think that it’s a city where you really experience the “real Germany” because Berlin is so international, but I really would move back in a heartbeat.  Leaving Hamburg was very hard for us, but I really did feel like my heart was ripped from my chest when we boarded that overnight bus the day we left.  Berlin, ich liebe dich! 

14. Compared to this time last year, are you: Thinner or fatter? About the same.  I actually lost weight during the first trimester, but I’m about where I was last year again, though the weight is all going to one place.

15. Richer or poorer? About the same as last year, but 2015 should change that 🙂

16. What do you wish you’d done more of? Exploring Berlin.  We saw a lot while we were there but I really feel like we barely scratched the surface of that wonderful city.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of? Stressing out.  Honestly I need to learn to stop letting things get to me so much, and just learn to move beyond and be happier for it.

18. Did you fall in love in 2014? Still falling in love with JP more and more.  Seriously he has been my hero through all of the scary medical things that happened this year.

19. What was your favorite TV program? Call the Midwife!  If you haven’t seen it so yourself a favor and go have a binge on Netflix 😉  TEAM CHUMMY!

20. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Nope.  I dislike certain people more, but I don’t hate them.  And those people are mainly those who “represent” “we the people” in DC who have made total and complete asses of themselves and need to be fired.

21. What was the best book you read? Oh gosh, I read a LOT this year.  I’m going to go with two books.  First is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  It was well written and lots of fun.  The second is #Girlboss. I went into that one a bit skeptical since it was on the must-read list for lots of people, and I thought it was going to be gimmicky, but I was very surprised and Sophia Amoruso offers some awesome advice, especially for those who are soon to graduate from school or in the midst of a job search.

22. What was your greatest musical discovery? The Civil Wars.  Unfortunately the duo has officially parted ways :/

23. What did you want and get? The anniversary trip, Baby E “sticking”, a job, and JP got me some awesome things I had been wanting for Christmas.

24. What did you want and not get? I thought I wanted a job back with MegaCorp again, but instead landed at a MUCH better company.

25. What did you not want and get? Repeat infection and subsequent dental.

26. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 28, and the details can be found here!

27. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? The only thing I can think of is the infection coming back with a vengeance and resulting in weeks where I was at the dentist MULTIPLE times a week.

28. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2014? Suitcase chic at the beginning, followed by pregnant lady chic.  Basically comfortable.

29. What kept you sane? JP and lots and lots of German chocolate.

30. Which celebrity/public figure did you follow the most? Pope Francis because he’s a pretty cool dude.

30. What political issue stirred you the most? The midterm election mess that we got thrown into when we got back.  Do I need to say more?

31. Who did you miss? Family and Sally while we were in Germany.  Currently JP since he’s not here, but only a few more days!

32. Who was the best new person you met? I’ll go with my new coworkers on this one.  They’re all pretty amazing and very patient when I ask dumb questions.

33. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2014:  Patience.

34. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: From the afor mentioned song in numba 13:

“Sie rockt, sie hat die Hosen an
Braucht keinen Mann mit 2 Meter Oberarm
Sie liebt Currywurst heiß und fettig”

Alrighty everyone, so that was 2015.  If you’ll excuse me I’m going to go finish drinking my mineral water (hence sipping on bubbles!), get into jammies, crawl into bed and read in hopes that laying down will calm Baby E down as someone has insisted on having their own little version of the Olympics the entire time I’ve been typing.

See you in 2015 internet!

Leave a Reply

